Ella Brennan Savoir Faire Award

The Ella Brennan Savoir Faire award was created by the New Orleans chapter of the American Culinary Federation in 1998. Ms. Brennan was the first recipient. Ms. Brennan, of the famed Commander’s Palace restaurant, has exemplified excellence in the restaurant and hospitality industries. The Ella Brennan Savoir Faire award will be given annually to those who follow her leadership role in the hospitality industry.

ellaawardHer talent for teaching and coaching young people with a passion for the restaurant business has led to a legion of chefs who named her as their mentor. Similar attributes of excellence and leadership in the hospitality and restaurant industries should be the hallmarks of future Ella Brennan Savoir Faire award winners.

The award is presented at the awards dinner after the Crystal® Culinary Classic™. It is a chef’s competition hosted by the ACFNO which is also a fundraiser for their chapter. The Crystal® Culinary Classic is held in conjunction with the Louisiana Restaurant Exposition.

The trophy has not been awarded recently due to Hurricane Katrina.

Past winners who have exemplified Ms. Brennan’s verve for the industry are:

2002 – Jim Funk – Executive Vice Presient of the Louisiana Restaurant Association.
2001 – Ruth Fertel – Founder Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse
2000 – Leah Chase – Chef Owner Dookey Chase Restaurant
1999 – Paul Prudhomme – K-Pauls Louisiana Kitchen
1998 – Ella Brennan – Owner of the Famous Commanders Palace Restaurant

Then chapter president, Chef Robert J.Richard, who created the award, said, “The opportunity to continue to develop the culinary field, particularly in a city renowned for its food, is what our association stands for. This event allows us to assist in providing the best education possible for prospective chefs. An added plum is that we have people like Ella Brennan in New Orleans who continue to promote excellence at all levels of the food industry.”